About the Board Board Meetings Policies & Protocols Archives
Office of the Superintendent About the District Mission Statement Our Schools Departments Map & Directions Business Services Human Resources & Administrative Services Student Services Special Education Instructional Services Student Nutrition Services
General Information Registration Packet Material 2016-2017 504 Accountability Plans Athletics Black Parents Association College and Career Planning Common Core English Learner Development Gate Parents Graduation Requirements News, Events and Resources for Parents & Students Restorative Justice Program Safety & Well-Being Resource Guide Special Education Student Assessment and Testing Student Health Student Nutrition Services Student Voice and Newspapers Summer School Title IX: Legal Protection Against Harassment
Assessment Field Trips Staff Conferences Curriculum Services Professional Development Technology Support Teacher Resources Coaches Forms
Community Community Events of Interest D-Tech Exploration of Employee Housing New District Office Coming in 18/19 Rental of Facilities Stadium Hours Stadium Lights
General Information


The SMUHSD Curriculum and Assessment Office strives to provide teachers and site administrators with the background knowledge, current research, and instructional and assessment support necessary for students to succeed in a rigorous, state and national standards-aligned curriculum. 


Brian Simmons, Director, Curriculum and Assessment

(650) 558-2212


Samia Shoman, Manager: English Learner & Compliance Programs

(650) 558-2233


Sonia Gill, Instructional Services Specialist

(650) 558-2253


Nora Barrientos, Executive Assistant

(650) 558-2297


Lennie Perreras, Student Data Specialist

(650) 558-2245


Wenifredo Rasay, Categorical Accounting Technician

(650) 558-2250

Araceli Guizar, District Testing Assistant

(650) 558-2231



For Alternative Programs Contact:

KindyLee Mackamul, Associate Superintendent ,Student Services

(650) 558-2205

San Mateo Middle College High School

Don Scatena, Principal

(650) 558-2257


(See link on left side for more information and web site)

Peninsula Alternative High School   

Ron Campana, Principal

(650) 558-2400


Teachers on Special Assignment


English Coordinator Michael Holtz mholtz@smuhsd.org
Math Coordinator Jinna Hwang   jhwang@smuhsd.org
Science Coordinator   Sabbie Hopkins shopkins@smuhsd.org
Health Coordinator Barbara Beaumont bbeaumont@smuhsd.org
Social Science Coordinator Danielle Robledo  drobledo@smuhsd.org
Visual and Performing Arts Attilio Tribuzi atribuzi@smuhsd.org
School to Career Coordinator  Anna Liu aliu@smuhsd.org
On -Site Credit Recovery Matt McDermott mmcdermott@smuhsd.org
Instructional Technology Dominic Bigue dbigue@smuhsd.org
Professional Development Michele Fichera mfichera@smuhsd.org
MTSS/Special Education Kristina Ish kish@smuhsd.org
English Language Development Nina Finci nfinci@smuhsd.org




Curriculum focuses on the daily student learning and ultimately their achievement of the prescribed curriculum that takes place in the classroom under the direction of the teacher. My staff and I are here to support the students, schools, and communities which make up the San Mateo Union High School District family.


If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact either of my assistants, Nora Barrientos at (650)558-2297 or Sonia Gill at (650)558-2253.


Brian Simmons




Content Standards

Link to » California Department of Education

Curriculum Framework

Link to » California Department of Education