About the Board Board Meetings Policies & Protocols Archives
Office of the Superintendent About the District Mission Statement Our Schools Departments Map & Directions Business Services Human Resources & Administrative Services Student Services Special Education Instructional Services Student Nutrition Services
General Information Registration Packet Material 2017-2018 504 Accountability Plans Athletics Black Parents Association College and Career Planning Common Core English Learner Development Gate Parents Graduation Requirements News, Events and Resources for Parents & Students Restorative Justice Program Safety & Well-Being Resource Guide Special Education Student Assessment and Testing Student Health Student Nutrition Services Student Voice and Newspapers Summer School Title IX: Legal Protection Against Harassment Later Start Time Exploration LGBTQ+ Resources
Assessment Field Trips Curriculum Services Professional Development Technology Support Teacher Resources Coaches Forms
Community Community Events of Interest D-Tech Exploration of Employee Housing New District Office Coming in 18/19 Rental of Facilities Stadium Hours Stadium Lights

News Item: Homepage

Two Dozen Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship Program LogoTwo dozen San Mateo Union High School seniors have been named semifinalists in the competition for 2018 National Merit Scholarships. The District seniors are among 16,000 National Merit semifinalists nationwide announced this week. Of those, about 7,500 are expected to be scholarship recipients next year.

In all, about $32 million worth of National Merit awards will be made. Those scholarships, considered among the most prestigious in the U.S. for secondary students, are funded by colleges, corporations and the National Merit Scholarship Program, now in its 63rd year. These are the District semifinalists:


  • Aragon:  Arthur Cai, Avichal Goel, Diana Gong, Frank Liu, Eric Shen, Meilling Thompson, Michael Wang, Chris Xiong, Lily Zhou.
  • Capuchino: Julia Cordero, Niven Jayanthi.
  • Hillsdale: Jamie Ip, Benjamin Liao.
  • Mills: Jasmine Carson, Kaitlyn Chan, Carson Eschen, Sarah Huang, Hongxiao Zhou, Eric Zhu.
  • San Mateo: Vidaat Dunna, Shannon Lu, Lily Sai, Emily Sun, Charles Xiao.
Posted by: Sheri Costa-Batis Published:9/27/17
Audience: Homepage