Absence Intervention Contacts

  • Please review the contacts/resources below if you need assistance with your student's attendance. 

    District Social Worker

    Melina Diaz headshot

    Melina Diaz

    mediaz@smuhsd.org
    Office: 650-558-2272
    Cell: 650-865-4062

    Contact the District Social Worker if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Samtrans bus passes to support transportation to/from school 

    • Case management services to facilitate access and linkage to community resources, e.g. food banks, childcare needs, housing resources, external mental health referrals

    • Engagement with a student in the home environment to encourage and support school attendance

    • Student support through individual sessions and groups

    Assistant Principals

    Jennu Gibson headshot

    Jenny Gibson
    jgibson@smuhsd.org

    Karen Bioski-Simon headshot

    Karen-Bioski Simon 
    kbioskisimon@smuhsd.org

    Aimee Malcolm Headshot 

    Aimee Malcom

    amalcolm@smuhsd.org

    Contact any Assistant Principal if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Concerns about the attendance letter and notification you received

    • Concerns about the safety or well-being of your child 

    • Issues around consequences due to absences and truancy


    Family Engagement Coordinator

    Gina Vannini headshot

    Gina Vannini
    650-558-2848
    gvannini@smuhsd.org


    Contact the Family Engagement Coordinator if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Learn about opportunities for engagement (meetings, workshops, school events)

    • Connecting with school personnel (Advocacy)

    • Assist families in understanding our school system (schedules, calendar, Parent Canvas accounts)

    • School and Community Resources


    School Attendance Technician

    Roxana Moreno headshot

    Roxana Moreno (Speaks Spanish)
    rmoreno@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2902

    Contact the Attendance Technician if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Reporting an absence 

    • Obtain pass for students who are leaving school early 

    • Inaccurate data related to attendance 


    Mental Health and Wellness Counselors

    Christina Cabrera
    Christina Cabrera
    (speaks Spanish)
    ccabrera@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2876

    Wendy
    Wendy Daniels
    (speaks Spanish)
    wdaniels@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2863

    Carolina
    Carolina Barraza

    cbarraza@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2896

    Adriana
    Adriana Gomez

    agomez@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2866

    Contact a Wellness Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Mental health concerns related to attendance 

    • Mental health referrals to Care Solace or other community resources


     

    School Counselors

    Traci Kreppel
    Works with A-EL
    650-558-2812
    tkreppel@smuhsd.org


    Earvin Buckner
    Works with Em-La / Homeless Liaison
    650-558-2813
    ebuckner@smuhsd.org


    Luis Mashek
    Works with Le- Ra
    650-558-2807
    lmashek@smuhsd.org

    Carla Renzi
    Works with Re-Z
    650-558-2811
    crenzi@smuhsd.org

    Contact a School Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Concerns about missing days and assignments

    • Connecting students with their teachers on missing assignments due to absences

    • Academic supports including 504 plans, health issues impacting students’ education, after-school tutoring and supports

    • If you are experiencing homelessness, please contact Earvin Buckner.


    Health Aide

    Andi Granzella headshot

    Andrea Ganzella
    650-558-2822
    agranzella@smuhsd.org

    Contact the Health Aide if you/your child need help with the following: