Absence Intervention Contacts

  • Please review the contacts/resources below if you need assistance with your student's attendance. 

    District Social Worker

    Dagoberto Espinoza

    Dagoberto Espinoza

    despinoza@smuhsd.org
    Office: 650-558-2290
    Cell: 650-865-4381 

    Contact the District Social Worker if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Samtrans bus passes to support transportation to/from school  

    • Case management services to facilitate access and linkage to community resources, e.g. food banks, childcare needs, housing resources, external mental health referrals

    • Engagement with a student in the home environment to encourage and support school attendance 

    • Parent/caregiver psycho-social support through groups/classes, e.g.  Parent Connect

    • Student support through individual sessions and groups 


    Assistant Principals

    Mauricio Rodriguez headshot

    Mauricio Rodriguez
    (speaks Spanish)
    mrodriguez@smuhsd.org

    Michalis Gordon

    Michalis Gordon 
    mgordon@smuhsd.org


    Deyango Harris headshot

    Deyango Harris

    dharris@smuhsd.org 

    Contact any Assistant Principal if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Concerns about the attendance letter and notification you received

    • Concerns about the safety or well-being of your child 

    • Issues around consequences due to absences and truancy

    • If you are experiencing homelessness, please contact Mauricio Rodriguez.


     

    Family Engagement Coordinator

    Fernanda Cely headshot

    Maria Fernanda Cely (speaks Spanish)
    650-558-2762
    fcely@smuhsd.org

    Contact the Family Engagement Coordinator if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Learn about opportunities for engagement (meetings, workshops, school events)

    • Connecting with school personnel (Advocacy)

    • Assist families in understanding our school system (schedules, calendar, Parent Canvas accounts)

    • School and Community Resources


    School Attendance Technician

    Sandra Valenzuela (Speaks Spanish)

    svalenzuela@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2708

    Contact the Attendance Technician if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Reporting an absence 

    • Obtain pass for student who are leaving school early 

    • Inaccurate data related to attendance 


    Mental Health and Wellness Counselors


    Lucero Govea with glasses on

    Lucero Govea (speaks Spanish)
    lgovea@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2776

    Gabriella Gelb

    Gabriella Gelb
    ggelb@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2749

    Georgina Rivera

    Georgina Rivera (speaks Spanish)
    grivera@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2709

    Jessica Azer

    Jessica Azer
    (speaks Spanish)
    jazer@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2732

    Contact a Wellness Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Mental health concerns related to attendance 

    • Mental health referrals to Care Solace or other community resources


     

    School Counselors

    Shannon Millard headshot

    Shannon Millard

    Works with R-Z
    650-558-2710
    smillard@smuhsd.org

    Faith Cabie-Ramil headshot 

    Faith Cabie-Ramil
    Works with Co-J
    650-558-2711
    fcabieramil@smuhsd.org

    Leticia Barajas headshot 

    Leticia Barajas
    (speaks Spanish)
    Works with A-Cn & ELD students
    650-558-2712
    lbarajas@smuhsd.org

    Wendy Rivera headshot 

    Wendy Rivera
    Works with K-Q
    650-558-2759
    wrivera@smuhsd.org

    Contact a School Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Concerns about missing days and assignments

    • Connecting students with their teachers on missing assignments due to absences

    • Academic supports including 504 plans, health issues impacting students’ education, after-school tutoring and supports


     

    Health Aide

    Renee McAuliffe headshot

    Renee McAuliffe
    650-558-2722
    rmcauliffe@smuhsd.org

    Contact the Health Aide if you/your child need help with the following: