Absence Intervention Contacts

  • Please review the contacts/resources below if you need assistance with your student's attendance. 

    District Social Worker

    Chelsi Cheng Headshot

    Chelsi Cheng
    ccheng@smuhsd.org
    Office: 650-558-2465
    Cell: 650-865-4041 

    Contact the District Social Worker if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Samtrans bus passes to support transportation to/from school  

    • Case management services to facilitate access and linkage to community resources, e.g. food banks, childcare needs, housing resources, external mental health referrals

    • Engagement with a student in the home environment to encourage and support school attendance 

    • Parent/caregiver psych-osocial support through groups/classes, e.g.  Parent Connect 

    • Student support through individual sessions and groups 


     

    Assistant Principals

     

    Headshot of Jonathan White

    Jonathan White
    jwhite@smuhsd.org

    Headshot of Eric Ding 

    Eric Ding
    eding@smuhsd.org

    Deyango Harris 

    Deyango Harris
    dharris@smuhsd.org

    Contact any Assistant Principal if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Concerns about the attendance letter and notification you received

    • Concerns about the safety or well-being of your child 

    • Issues around consequences due to absences and truancy

    • If you are experiencing homelessness, please contact Dean Tim Christian at tchristian@smuhsd.org.


     

    Family Engagement Coordinator

    Gina Vannini headshot

    Gina Vannini
    650-558-2578 (on site Wednesdays and Thursdays only)
    gvannini@smuhsd.org

    Contact the Family Engagement Coordinator if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Learning about opportunities for engagement (meetings, workshops, school events)

    • Connecting with school personnel (Advocacy)

    • Understanding our school system (schedules, calendar, Parent Canvas accounts)

    • School and Community Resources


     

    School Attendance Technician

    Michelle Dudley
    mdudley@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2508

    Contact the Attendance Technician if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Reporting an absence 

    • Obtain pass for student who are leaving school early 

    • Inaccurate data related to attendance
       


     

    Mental Health and Wellness Counselors

    Nancy Yance Chavez headshot

    Nancy Yance Chavez (speaks Spanish)
    nyancechavez@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2576

    Lisa Windes headshot

    Lisa Windes
    lwindes@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2576

    Laura Hahn headshot

    Laura Hahn
    lhahn@smuhsd.org
    650-558-2513

    Contact a Wellness Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Mental health concerns related to attendance 

    • Mental health referrals to Care Solace or other community resource


     

    School Counselors

     

    Rachel Mack headshot

    Rachel Mack
    Works with A-Gi
    650-558-2510
    rmack@smuhsd.org

    Jayde Tijero headshot

    Jayde Tijero 
    Works with Gi-Lo
    650-558-2512
    jtijero@smuhsd.org


    Kalani Vasquez headshot 

    Kalani Vasquez (speaks Spanish)
    Works with Lu-P
    650-558-2536
    kvasquez@smuhsd.org

    Jon Fong headshot

    Jon Fong
    Works with Q-Z
    650-558-2511
    jjfong@smuhsd.org

    Contact a School Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

    • Concerns about missing days and assignments

    • Connecting students with their teachers on missing assignments due to absences

    • Academic supports including 504 plans, health issues impacting students’ education, after-school tutoring and supports


     

    Health Aide

    Lori Durham headshot
    Lori Durham
    650-558-2522
    ldurham@smuhsd.org

    Contact the Health Aide if you/your child need help with the following: