Skip To Main Content


Special Education Local Plan Area

The San Mateo County Special Education Local Plan Area was organized in 1977 along with Special Education Local Plan Areas throughout the state.   All school districts and county school offices in California were required to belong to a Special Education Local Plan Area office, which is advisory to parents, school districts, and agencies that provide services to students with disabilities. The San Mateo County Special Education Local Plan Area is comprised of the 28 school districts located in San Mateo county.  These school districts and the County Office of Education cooperatively provide a continuum of programs and services for individuals with disabilities from birth through 21 years of age.

SELPA Meetings

SELPA Governing Board Meeting

Tuesday, December 6, 9:30 - 11 a.m.

San Mateo County Office of Education (Arroyo & Butano Rooms)
101 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood Shores

Learn more and view agenda.